Do you run solo or with others?

When I started running (ok, ok, I started out walking with small 30-second running stints until I could actually run), I went off by myself into the early morning air… Why? Because it’s convenient and I can control my schedule. There is a great path near my house for runners, walkers, bikers, and everyone in between.

I *am* a member of a loosely organized running group, but I never run with them. Mainly because I am slow and don’t want to feel bad about not being able to keep up with the fast runners. That being said, YES, I know they recommend running with faster runners to improve your own speed. But, frankly, I’m cool with being slower.

So, what about you? Do you run alone or with others? Friends or a running group? I’d be interested in learning other people’s preferences and why… Because I have been a soloist for a year now and don’t feel like I need to change.

8 thoughts on “Do you run solo or with others?

  1. I do both. Mostly on my own. I do have an accountability running partner. I like having someone to keep me motivated. So if one of us is getting in a running pit again, we run together for a short run. I enjoy running alone though. I like to set my own pace and distance. I think having an accountability partner will help more than running with others.

    Either way, slow or fast, you’re lapping the couch potatoes.

    • I am actually training for a half right now (first one in a long time), so that’s interesting to hear. Do you have friends who run at similar paces or do you get together and just run the same distance (“do the same run”) at your own pace?

      • Yup. And I’m usually the slowest too šŸ™‚ there’s a picture of the group of friend I run with.. In my post about the 10 things to do in your 30’s Ohttp://smilesnplaces.com/2015/07/28/10-things-ive-done-in-my-30s-that-make-me-smile/
        Our schedules are crazy so we don’t get together as much any more.. šŸ˜¦ But yes we do the same distance and I’m the slowest šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

