My 5-Mile Run on Sunday…

I’m following a newbie training plan for a half marathon. The half is in October and I’m starting to slowly build on miles to my early morning runs. On Saturday, I ran three miles. On Sunday, I ran five miles. While that might not be a lot yet, it felt like it was. In a good way – I felt accomplished sort of.

Some random thoughts during my three-mile run on Saturday:

  • If three miles feels difficult, what is five miles going to feel like? I’m getting nervous.
  • I don’t know if I can do five miles.
  • OMG, am I crazy? What made me think I could do this?
  • Do I smell perfume? Who wears perfume this early in the morning out on a trail?
  • Random thoughts during my successful five-mile run on Sunday:

  • You can turn around at any time… It’s ok.
  • Look, it’s a murder of crows!
  • I’ve only gone one mile. I don’t know if I can do this.
  • I need to add some new songs to my running list.
  • Look, two super cute jackrabbits!
  • OMG, I have made it half way… I can do this.
  • Another jackrabbit. No, several jackrabbits. It’s a jackrabbit jack pot!
  • (At three miles) I might not die. But, I still might.
  • Seriously, I think I smell perfume.
  • Luckily, I made it through. And, I have another five-mile run tomorrow. Hopefully, my inner dialog will be more positive. And, maybe more entertaining – Don’t worry, I won’t be posting it. šŸ™‚ I am glad I’ve hit this milestone… I am starting to feel better about myself and my stamina. I earned some pizza!

    I’d love some good song recommendations! Add them to the comments section!

    Now, let’s pretend I actually took this picture of a jackrabbit on Sunday:
    It's a cute jackrabbit
    (Image courtesy of https://baileydiann.wordpress.com/2009/09/)

    2 thoughts on “My 5-Mile Run on Sunday…

    1. For some reason, the Eminem recommendation made me think about a Kanye West song that I like – Love Lockdown. I have both of those somewhere in my digital collection. Will get them into my playlist for tomorrow! šŸ™‚

    2. Hahaha! The random run thoughts are hilarious! I like running to Love Runs Out by One Republic, or stuff by Fall Out Boys, or even Taylor Swift’s Shake It Off. A good motivational one is Til I Collapse by Eminem (good beat too).

    Leave a Reply

    