Got Good Granola?

One of the things I love to order when we go out for brunch is “yogurt sundaes” – Yogurt, granola, fresh fruit. To me, it tastes fantastic (aka, I don’t eat it because I think it’s the healthy option)! Just writing about it is making me want to go to my kitchen and put one together… Which is exactly what I’ve been doing a lot of lately. My current yogurt of choice is Greek Gods honey yogurt. So good! Seriously – try it! If you don’t like it, you can give it to me. 😉

The granola has been a challenge, though. What to use, what to use… I’ve recently experimented with four different types of granola and wanted to share my thoughts. Here they are, in order of tastiness. Note: I’ve cherry-picked the nutrition information and it came straight off of the products themselves.

Granola Competition

Nature’s Path Honey Almond Granola Udi’s Gluten Free Original Granola (raisins, banana chips, honey, nuts) Nature Valley Granola Protein (Peanut Butter) Kind Healthy Grains Banana Nut Clusters
Serving size ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup ½ cup
Calories per serving 140 140 240 190
Total fat 4.5g (7%) 6 g (9%) 7g (11%) 3g (5%)
Sodium 65mg (3%) 0mg (0%) 160mg (7%) 60mg (3%)
Fiber 2g (8%) 2g (8%) 3 g(11%) 3g (11%)
Sugar 7g 7g 14g 6g
Protein 3g 3g 10g (14%) 4g

 

My favorite of these four is the Nature’s Path Honey Almond Granola. It’s light and crunchy, a little sweet, great almond flavor. I could easily overdose on this stuff.

The Udi’s Original Granola is very good. Not as light as the Nature’s Path, but something I could still happily eat my way through. It also doesn’t taste quite as sweet, even though the sugar content is about the same.

The Nature Valley Granola was good. It didn’t have as many clusters as the first two, but tastes like peanuts/peanut butter – as advertised. Not something I want to snack on on it’s own, but it’s very good in the granola with cut up bananas.

The Kind brand had good flavor, but it was really, really tough. Like, my jaws got tired chewing on it kind of tough. Can’t say I’d buy that one again.

Do you have a favorite or go-to granola? If so, let me know in the comments. Would love to find more good options.

Leave a Reply

