Being told to stop…

I don’t know if anything like this has happened to you, but… As I was on a long run recently, I had a flashback to circa 2005 when I was told I had mild hip dysplasia in my left hip. I got two professional opinions:

  • Doctor #1 told me that the dysplasia was 1-2 on a scale from 1-10. He went over my x-ray with me and showed me that the hip joint was correctly in its socket, but that the hip bone didn’t curve around as much as normal. Something to be cautious of, but he didn’t think it was a big deal
  • Doctor #2 told me to stop pretty much everything. He basically told me my life was over and that I needed to be super careful with all activities. I remember leaving the doctor’s office and the receptionist asked me if I was ok. Well, no, I was just told that I should give up on any kind of physical activity, which is freaking me out – I didn’t tell her that, but it was obviously showing on my face

I went back to Doctor #1 after getting that lovely second opinion to discuss what Doctor #2 had said. Doctor #1 was visibly disturbed by what #2 had said to me. I recall him saying things like “irresponsible” and “ridiculous” after blurting out that #2 had been unprofessional.

Doctor #1’s response made me feel better and we discussed my hip situation at length.

I decided that #2 was wrong and went about my life… Back to the present and I did an 11-mile run on Sunday and a 4-mile run this morning. And, I did it feeling just fine. The soreness I felt on Sunday and Monday had nothing to do with my hip – just good ole “I’ve done something strenuous” fatigue. Suck on that Doctor #2. 😉

All kidding aside, it’s important to discuss things with your doctors, to get second opinions, and to find a medical approach that you are comfortable with. I still remember vividly how scared I felt after seeing #2 and being told that any level physical activity was going to do me in. I’m glad #2 was wrong and I’m glad I have found a way to be a little healthy!

If you have had a similar experience, let me know how things went in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Being told to stop…

  1. Ugh, some doctors just don’t care to serve their patients. They spout out what they think is right or whatever is simplest, not really taking the time to learn about their patients or tailor to their needs. We all need more of an individual approach. I’m glad you had one doctor who helped you and encouraged you. No one should be without physical activity unless they physically can’t do it.

  2. Doctors drive me crazy. They’re not the end-all be-all to your health like some think they are. Glad you didn’t pay attention to doctor #2. Here’s a joke for you: What’s the difference between God and surgeons? God doesn’t think he’s a surgeon. 😀

Leave a Reply

