Food

Heirloom Tomatoes? Yes, Please!

I bought some heirloom tomatoes at a farmer’s market over the weekend. I love heirloom tomatoes! Each one is unique and non-perfect (just like me 🙂 ), and all of them taste fabulous. I’ve read that while they have a shorter shelf life, these tomatoes are more disease resistant than most commercial tomatoes.

Local Heirloom Tomatoes
Local Heirloom Tomatoes

Heirloom tomatoes are open-pollenated, which means they are non-hybrid, varieties. Many of these tomatoes have been “passed down” through a family or farm or family farm (!) for generations. Alas, we have lost many heirloom varieties as the industry trended toward hybrid tomatoes with longer shelf life. And, that is why I get exciting when they are in season.

Last night, I made the most amazing open-faced tomato sandwich – sorry, no photo… I ate it too quickly. Here’s what I like to do:

  1. Toast a slice of bread
  2. Spread some regular mayonnaise on the bread
  3. Place my tomatoes and sprinkle with a little sea salt

That’s it! Mmmmmm…

Any tomato recipes or suggestions? Let me know!

Leave a comment