Image

An Inspirational Weekend

I just had a wonderfully inspirational weekend… While I expected Sunday to be rewarding, I didn’t know how empowering Saturday would be. I was in San Francisco this past weekend for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon. I participated in the Nike Shakeout Run on Saturday – a two-mile run through downtown San Francisco – and the half on Sunday.

The shakeout run on Saturday was organized by the Nike Run Club.

Nike Shakeout Run - Oct 17

Nike Shakeout Run – Oct 17

Before the run, we chatted with pacers and coaches in our assigned corrals, then then they had a quick program before the actual run. The main speaker, Coach Bennett, said something that really resonated with me. He said, “You don’t need a finish line to be a runner, you just need a starting line.”

Coach Bennett @ Nike Shakeout Run - Oct 17

Coach Bennett @ Nike Shakeout Run – Oct 17

It was part of a message to all of us participating that we should be proud of where we are, proud of our training, and that we didn’t need to wait to cross the finish line on Sunday to call ourselves runners. I’ve been very hesitant to call myself a runner, even though I’ve been running for a little over a year now. This made me feel like maybe now I can use that word… And, you can, too. Whether you run just a little here and there, or you are running in official events, you are a runner. I am a runner. We are runners!!

I am a slow runner, so my goal for Sunday’s half marathon was to finish at the 2:45 mark. Since there were 3 rather steep hills, I was hoping to not go beyond 3 hours. First hill – made it. Second hill – made it. Third hill – holy bleep, that is one steep hill! I got 1/3 of the way up before having to walk the remainder and catch my breath. Grrrr! After that, it was downhill and flat to the finish – yay! My official time was 2:46, so I was incredibly excited. After crossing the finish line, a woman came over and told me that she used me to pace herself. That made me feel really good – it’s hard to imagine someone thinking that you are doing well enough to want to follow your lead. 🙂

We are runners!

Here are a few photos from Sunday:

Waiting to start Sunday morning

Waiting to start Sunday morning

I think I see the starting line waaaayyyyyy up there

I think I see the starting line waaaayyyyyy up there

My bling already around my neck :)

My bling already around my neck 🙂

How did I lose my banana?

How did I lose my banana?

8 thoughts on “An Inspirational Weekend

    • Thanks! And, thank you for validating my expensive hotel night because that was the best thing I did in preparation for Sunday.

      I feel like I want to practice that last hill on my own just so I can beat it one day! Back in 2013, I had a horrible half marathon – calf cramped up, barely finished. I’m feeling so good about Sunday, I’m doing that bad one again in March to show it there’s a new boss in town. 😉

Leave a Reply

