Beating the Blerch (aka, I ran a 10k and spent the weekend in Sacramento)

I ran the Beat the Blerch 10k in Sacramento, CA, on Saturday. It was a lot of fun! I believe last year was the inaugural event – There is a full marathon, half marathon, 10k, and 5k. First of all, to give credit where credit is due, I went to this because I love The Oatmeal and Matthew Inman. If the blerch is unfamiliar to you, check out Inman’s thoughts on running. Too many words? (I kinda agree…) Here is a short video that sums things up nicely: https://www.facebook.com/theoatmeal/videos/10156274320625078/

So, how was the race?

The upside: Great weather, people in fat suits running around (aka, blerchs), cake, Nutella, and last but not least, a good run. Finished my 6.2 miles in just under 1:10. Holding true to my slow and steady ways.

Before

Before

After

After

The downside: I lost my Jaybird bluebuds! My Bluetooth ear buds are probably in someone else’s ears right now… Or, on the floor of Raley Field somewhere. The latter is more likely, I guess… Either way, I am sad that I have to replace them.

I dragged my husband, son (toddler), father, and father-in-law to Sacramento. We drove in HORRIBLE traffic Friday night. I went straight to the Sacramento REI, where packet pickup was. I was lucky enough to get a book signed by The Oatmeal (Matthew Inman) himself! That was pretty awesome!

The Oatmeal Book Signing

The Oatmeal Book Signing

The 10k didn’t start until 10am, which felt both decadent and a little lazy. I’m so used to running at 7am, I didn’t know how to take such a leisurely morning. We rented a house 10 minutes from the event location, so I had my husband drop me off then go back for the clan.

Blerch!

Blerch!

This was the first time my dad has attended a run… He was more enthusiastic about this 10k than he was the half marathon I ran last month. I guess he got caught up in the excitement! 😉

We spent the rest of the weekend putting around Sacramento. On Saturday, we went to lunch and then everyone (led by the toddler) needed a nap except me. Um, hey guys. I’m the one who went running! So, I did manage to get a short nap in, but spent most of my time playing on my iPad trying to be quiet.

Saturday night, we had BBQ at an amazing restaurant called Sandra Dee’s. So much food, so good… Mmmm. Even my son ate until I thought he was going to pop! Highly recommended if you are ever in the Sacramento area.

Sunday started with some much-needed rain. So, a rainy morning means let’s stop at a coffee shop to me… And, we did. Then, we went to the California State Railroad Museum. Perfect for a young boy who loves trains – and it gave the weather time to clear up. We then visited Old Sacramento, which is like an 1880s town. Fun to walk around… Lots of junk shops, though. Then, we headed home.

Got home to find out that my father-in-law left his coat at the house we rented. I’m working on getting that back. My husband had to take his work stuff and has now lost his badge – maybe in the rental house? Not really sure. As mentioned, I am in mourning over the loss of my ear buds. My dad is the only one to come out unscathed in the lost & found department. Even my son lost one of his cars, which is really more of a wash since I realized he took one of the cars from the rental house after we left. 🙂

Inspirational

Inspirational

4 thoughts on “Beating the Blerch (aka, I ran a 10k and spent the weekend in Sacramento)

    • If nothing else, I’ve learned a lesson… I didn’t buy my fancy new running tights with pockets for no reason. I should use them. Instead of putting my earbuds over my neck. 🙂

    • I don’t know how easy or difficult it was, but it was hilarious to see them along the route. I wanted a picture, but they were awfully popular and I gave up. At least I got a picture of one serving up marshmallows drizzled with chocolate before the race. 🙂

Leave a Reply

