Rainy Day Ramblings

After all the rain this morning... A rainbow!

After all the rain this morning… A rainbow!

I need a good name for my war with the common cold. My sore throat is back and it’s really frustrating. This has been off and on since the holidays – The Sore Throat Slog. On top of that, it’s raining a lot. That’s actually a good problem to have since California has been in a drought for such a long time, but it is a little de-motivational for me in terms of running… So…

This morning, I could hear the rain beating down, so I turned my 6am alarm off and gave myself some extra sleep. I decided I would target the afternoon, sick or not, to run since the storm front was supposed to be out of here by mid afternoon. I saw a gap in the rain around lunch time and seized my opportunity.

I was worried it might start raining while I was out, so I decided to wear a tank top with my rain-proof jacket. That’s not a winning combination when it’s 60F. I am pretty sure I was just as wet with that jacket on as I would have been without it in the rain. It is definitely a cold-weather jacket. Next time, I’ll take my chances with the rain – I really don’t think it could have been worse. Since I am not feeling so great, I planned on a 3-mile run. The first 2 miles were ok, but that last mile was a literal sweat shop. I was about to take the jacket off, but saw a few rain drops, so I kept it on. Note to self: Take it off next time!

I’m glad I got a run in, but I really need to re-evaluate my running gear plans. Yeesh. At least I took a tissue with me because that’s all I had to fight off my runny nose. I am certainly hoping to get my mojo back soon because I am running a half marathon in March and need to get back into the swing of things. I was away on a business trip for 3 days last week and didn’t get any exercise. On the way home, there was bad weather. I got in really, really late and was pretty dead the next day, so no exercise. Four days of no exercise made things uncomfortable when I did finally get to run. I know I’ll get back in shape, but I definitely need to get refocused somehow. Suggestions? How do you refocus? How do you get back into your routine?

On a completely unrelated note, I started watching Daredevil on Netflix. I’m really enjoying it. It is a very fair statement to say that I am not well-versed on the Marvel universe. BUT, on episode #4, I kept thinking that one of the characters seemed familiar to me. While we were watching last night, I did a Google search and bam! I was right about who I thought the “bad guy” was. And, I don’t mean the actor or anything – I mean the Marvel villain. No spoilers from me, but I am still pretty proud of myself for figuring out who he was. And, all because I used to watch the Amazing Spider-Man animated series. I would definitely recommend this show, but you do need to be OK with fighting, violence, and bloodshed. And, if you like any of those things, do check out Jessica Jones as well. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Rainy Day Ramblings

Leave a Reply

