It’s Been a Blah 2 Weeks

For the last two weeks, I’ve been nursing my right knee. It is still a little tender, but much better. I am still working out, but trying to keep it low impact. I’ve been doing indoor cycling and treadmill runs. Then there was this week… Work got busy so I missed one of my cycling classes. Skipping that one day made me feel completely lethargic. Or, I was already there and skipping that one day made me realize it.

My knee all wrapped up

My knee all wrapped up

Last night, I fell asleep a little after 10pm. My husband let me veg out on the sofa until I woke up around midnight. And, honestly, I usually jump out of bed at 6am. It was tough this morning. I have to figure out how to get out of this rut. The good news is that I did my treadmill run, though. I’m planning a road run (short one) tomorrow so make sure the knee feels good enough to handle it. I’m really looking forward to getting outside. I do so much better outdoors.

I’ve found that I get super hot in the gym. I wear shorts and tank tops, but I still feel like I am about to pass out. I get hot much sooner than when I run in the crisp, cool morning air. I have really missed my regular running schedule. And, now that the sun is out earlier, it’s even easier. I just have to dodge the cyclists who think they own the trail. 😉 Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all of them. But, it is a lot of them. And, they ride really fast. I’m surprised there aren’t more accidents.

Less exercise also means I can’t keep eating the same amount of stuff I’ve been eating. I’ve been good about salads and eating less this week… mostly. I’ve had to dip into the chocolate stash a couple of times because chocolate at the end of a bad day makes everything feel better. Then again, I also don’t believe you should completely deprive yourself of something. I find that the cravings are worse and the splurge is bigger when I try to completely avoid something I really want. The trick is to only consume small amounts. Easier said than done, I know. Believe me, I know!!

Inspirational

From the Beat the Blerch run in Sacramento

It’s a good thing that my next half marathon isn’t until October. That one is a trail run and I have new trail shoes. Yay! That I haven’t been able to try out yet. Boo! I am hoping to do my first official trail training run next weekend. I am definitely chomping at the bit, but I’m trying to be good. Can’t wait to post about my experience… And, with a new brand of shoe, too. I went with Saucony Peregrines instead of sticking with my go-to Brooks. I was really close to getting my third pair of Brooks, but wanted to mix it up a little bit.

Leave a Reply

