Getting My Motivation Back

 

From Sunday's Hike

From Sunday’s Hike

 
I had a really good weekend and I feel like I’m motivated to work out again. On Saturday, I took my knee out for a 2-mile test run. My knee did just fine – what I noticed, to my chagrin, is that 3 weeks on the treadmill made me soft. I need to get used to the feel of the pavement again. Ah, well… A challenge I am more than happy to accept.

I also took a bar method class. I took it because we were offered a special class through the parents’ club I belong to. This is one of those classes that have you do some ballet moves and use the bars, as well as other exercises. It was tough, especially getting my form right for some of the exercises. I finally got the hang of it, and signed up for a few classes with some of my mom friends. 🙂 I felt the burn! There were several times my legs were shaking. It was a very successful workout and I think having people I know in class will be a good motivator for me.

So, after all my good-girl exercise on Saturday, we had friends over for dinner and I stayed up late and drank 3-4 glasses of wine. It was fun. Totally worth blowing all that hard work every now and then…

After staying up past midnight (and my poor 3-yr-old refused to sleep until about 11:45), this was a rest day. What do you do on a rest day when you are feeling tired? You make a doughnut run, of course. 🙂 

Mmmm... Doughnuts

Mmmm… Doughnuts

 
Yes, we had doughnuts from one of my favorite places for breakfast… And, I got a latte with Dillano’s coffee. Mmmmmm… Yummy in my tummy!

I got to work off my doughnut even on my off day. We went on a short 3-mile roundtrip hike. Uphill was a little tough with the stroller, but hey, it’s an off-road stroller and it all went well. This gorgeous place is only 15 minutes from where we live. And, the best part of this particular part of my day is that I think I found a good place for my first, soon-to-be-scheduled trail run. 

Sunday's View From the Top

Sunday’s View From the Top

  
Sunday's View From the Top

Wildflowers Along the Trail

 
I really started getting excited once I realized how perfect it would be and then I saw people running – Yes, the excitement is building. I am really looking forward to it. How, if everyone could just clear my weekend schedules a bit… 😉
Stay healthy!

2 thoughts on “Getting My Motivation Back

Leave a Reply

