Perplexing Peanut Butter

Ok, so peanut butter isn’t really perplexing, but…

It’s hard to determine which peanut butter to buy. I’ve been buying Jiff Natural, which is “low sodium” and seems healthier than “regular” peanut butters. However, I recently read that the sugar added to peanut butter is “bad” and you should only go with peanut butter made with “natural” ingredients. So many quotation marks!

So! What did I do? I bought some natural peanut butter – only peanuts and salt. Well! It was more like peanut soup. I had to stir for at least 5 minutes to get it to a decent consistency. And, let’s face it… It wasn’t all that exciting. Yes, it tasted like peanuts, but the soupiness didn’t make for good PB&Js. Just ask my toddler. 🙂

Then, I took a gander at the nutrition information on both peanut butters and, while the ingredients were indeed different, the overall nutritional benefits/detriments/whatever seemed about the same.

Choosing a peanut butter

Choosing a peanut butter


Jif Natural ingredients: Peanuts, Sugar, Palm Oil, Salt, Molasses

Nutrition information for a 2 tbsp serving:

  • Calories: 190
  • Fat calories: 130
  • Total fat: 24%
    • Saturated fat: 15%
  • Cholesterol: 0%
  • Sodium: 3%
  • Total carbs: 3%
    • Dietary fiber: 10%
  • Protein: 7g

Open Nature ingredients: Peanuts, Salt

Nutrition information for a 2 tbsp serving:

  • Calories: 200
  • Fat calories: 140
  • Total fat: 25%
    • Saturated fat: 15%
  • Cholesterol: 0%
  • Sodium: 5%
  • Total carbs: 2%
    • Dietary fiber: 8%
  • Protein: 7g

Given the above, I’m going back to the Jif Natural with the sugar. It tastes better and appears to be on par with the natural stuff from a bottom-line nutritional perspective. And, one more plus? I don’t have to stir it for more than a few seconds. It does have some separation, but nothing like the natural stuff.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite peanut butter? What do you think about natural vs. more processed? Let me know in the comments.

Stay healthy!

4 thoughts on “Perplexing Peanut Butter

  1. I’m having issues with my PB too. I went to PB powder to save on calories and fat, but there’s no flavor. I’m perplexed on what to do. I think I’ll probably just end up going back to my normal fave. I’ve tried the natural stuff, but not a big fan of that either. I’m great help, aren’t I, lol!

  2. I love Sunpat (here in the Uk) which is 95% peanuts. There is also a natural one called whole earth which is just peanuts- though sometimes this can be a little dry, great in cooking not so good on toast 😍

Leave a Reply

