My First Trail Run – Finally!

I feel like I got my Saucony Peregrin trail running shoes a really long time ago… A scheduling problem here and an injury there, and I finally, finally got to take them on my first official trail run yesterday. On Mother’s Day – because that’s what I asked for.

With help like this, how could I refuse? (He’s 3, so it was the thought that counts. 🙂 )

Getting my shoe tied

Getting my shoe tied


I was a little nervous so I took it easy. 3 miles – 1 mile up, 1 mile flat-ISH, and 1 mile down. It was lovely and fun and exhilarating. 

At the start

At the start


The signage was daunting, but the only real wildlife I saw other than birds were to fluffy-tailed bunnies. There were a couple of tree roots that looked suspicious from a distance, but no rattlesnakes. Yay! And, I only came close to losing my balance once. 🙂

 Mountain lions, huh?

Mountain lions, huh?

Wait! What?

Wait! What?


I was impressed with my new trail shoes. They had great grip and felt incredibly light. They were breathable and flexible. The shoe laces are braided, which required me to double knot them so they wouldn’t come untied. That’s a minor issue, though. And, I can’t blame the shoes for almost losing my balance – first lesson learned is that you need to keep an eye on the actual trail. Lots of things to watch out for, so… do watch out for them. Rocks, dips, roots… That kind of thing.

Edgewood Park is lovely.  Once you get up the hill a ways, the views are gorgeous. I am a morning runner, so mornings work for me on many levels. I’d also say mornings are best at this park because it gets a little crowded. My first visit to this park was in the afternoon and the parking lot was full and there were a fair number of people milling about. I am not surprised about that given how nice this park is. We did see some runners that afternoon and it looked frustrating trying to get around all of us lollygaggers.

Rolling hills

Rolling hills

One thought on “My First Trail Run – Finally!

Leave a Reply

