A Bump in the Night

Maybe more of a bang?

bang

I have had leg/foot issues for a while now. Usually, as a result of too much walking in shoes with no arch support, I end up with leg or foot cramps in the middle of the night. They are annoying and painful, but I’ve gotten better about a) wearing the right shoes; and b) stretching before I go to sleep.

I’ve also found that I can’t sit still very well… Usually after about 1.5 hours, my butt starts to hurt and I get fidgety. I went to a seminar yesterday and sat for the better part of 4 hours on a very uncomfortable chair. So, last night, I paid for that. It wasn’t as simple as a foot/leg cramp, though…

My 3-yr-old woke up around 2am or so, and I got up to check on him. I felt a little tingling in my right foot, but didn’t think too much about it at that precise moment. Then, BANG! I was on the floor. My foot had fallen asleep and I literally could not stand on it and/or my leg. I got up, my whole right leg wobbled. I tried to catch myself, but ended up falling on my knee. My poor husband didn’t know who to check on first. I told him to check on the kid. 🙂

At first blush, I was worried about the knee. I crashed on that baby pretty hard. But, it was the ankle. It hurt a bit last night after my majestic swan dive. This morning, a little sketchy, but mostly ok. I did get in a run and only felt a little discomfort twice. Mostly, it feels stiff and a little tender in spots.

Has this happened to anyone else? Let me know in the comments.

I’m guessing it was some kind of pinched nerve issue after all of the sitting… I really am not sure, though. I do know that I was lucky and the damage could have been much worse. Probably the saddest thing was me in the middle of the night worrying about my training routine. I’ll be wrapping my ankle for a bit and doing road/paved running instead of trail running for a few weeks. I feel like I have less chance of making things worse on a nice, paved run. Any suggestions on the best way to wrap an ankle? I’ve got a good supply of KT tape, but am open to other ideas. That being said, if it doesn’t feel good, I’ll back off. I’m glad it’s Friday…

I’m also glad I got to run this morning because I may or may not have eaten a lot of gelato last night. Hahaha! This stuff is addictive:

 

southern-butter-pecan_Pint

Stay healthy! (But, still enjoy some ice cream!)

One thought on “A Bump in the Night

Leave a Reply

