What a Weird Weekend

I had a bit of a disappointing weekend with my training – for both my July 10 12k and my half marathon in October. On Friday, I fell and hurt my foot. That was crazy, weird… So, that was about 2:30am when I tried to get up and check on my son. When I got out of bed around 6am on Friday, I tested out my foot and everything felt ok. I went for a 4-mile run and it went well. Once or twice, I felt a minor tweak in my foot, but mostly felt nothing during the run.

That afternoon, my foot really started to hurt. Whaaaat?!? The next thing I know, I’m limping around in pain. Boo! So, as I muttered something about keeping my foot up so I could try to run Saturday morning, my hubby (unlikely voice of reason) convinced me it wasn’t such a good idea. So, no running or gym for me on Saturday. I did tape my foot up with KT Tape. It was my foot, not my ankle that was giving me trouble. By Saturday evening, my foot was feeling a lot better.

Hmmmm, maybe I could run on Sunday. I was supposed to run 6 miles, so was feeling a little antsy about messing up my schedule. This time on my own, I decided to be a somewhat good patient and take an indoor cycling class instead. That worked out well. Not too much strain on my foot and got in a pretty intense workout.

That brings me to this morning. I did a 4-mile run and I am feeling pretty confident that I can do my 6 miles tomorrow… Just in time for my 7-mile run this weekend. I think it will be a challenging run – challenging in a good way. Plus a little life got in the way this morning. Hopefully I’m on track with my training again. So many monkey wrenches, so little time. 😉

Kitty tried to make me feel better. Good kitty!


Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

