Mixing Up the Exercise Routine

For a really long time, I ran. That’s it. Different distances, sometimes different routes, but still just running. Then, I decided to add a little variation to my exercise routine. Currently, I’m exercising 6 days a week (mostly) as follows:

  • Run 4+ miles – 3-4 days a week
  • Indoor cycling – 1-2 days a week
  • Weight work – 1 day a week

While I sometimes get frustrated with my lack of calorie burn on weight day, it’s really important that I do it so I don’t lose muscle mass. To give myself a little boost, I’ve started riding my bike to the gym on weight day. It’s not far, so I don’t get a big boost, but it’s better than nothing.

When I can’t stick to the routine, I modify. Lately, I’ve had to switch over to outdoor cycling (something I haven’t done in a really long time) on a few of my run days. I injured and then re-injured my right knee so I’m trying to keep it healthy so I can complete a half marathon in October. I’m a little worried that this will mess with my training more than I’d like, but I also like not having knee pain, so… 🙂

I do get to see more when I ride my bike. I certainly appreciate the views. Here’s a picture from this morning’s bike ride:

Boats in the morning sun


I also get to pull out my bike gear that’s been gathering dust. Who am I kidding? My bike was gathering dust, too! Nice to have it down from the rack and back in action – even if I’m riding a mountain bike on the road. Whatevs! What do you do to modify and try to deal with injuries? I’d love some suggestions.

Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

