My Shoe Has a Problem

Before I get to my shoe problem, I’ll share some good news. This morning, I was able to run 8 miles. I’m behind in my half marathon training, but that’s ok. I’ve been dealing with an ankle problem after running in new shoes without properly breaking them in. Right now, I’m wrapping my ankle and putting KT tape on my calf. The KT tape was helping my ankle, but not quite giving me the level of support I needed. Broke down and bought a proper ankle brace… Very helpful. Very excited to have run 8 miles without issue.

Added bonus: I got to play a great game of “dodge the snails.” I think every snail in the area was on the trail this morning trying to get out of the puddles so they wouldn’t drown or something. The big ones were not much of a challenge, but so many baby snails… As far as I know, I didn’t cause any deaths. No snails, slugs, or worms were harmed by me this morning.

 

Interesting double bonus: I brought some Gu with me and realized about 3 miles into the run that I had dropped my Gu somewhere. I was disappointed because it was one of my favorite flavors. On the way back (straight trail), I started scanning for my lost packet of Gu about the spot I realized it was gone… about a quarter of a mile later, I actually found it! Woot!

Ok, now to my shoe problem. The reason I bought new shoes is because my right shoe has 2 small holes in the mesh on top. After today’s run, one of those holes is a little bigger. 😦 So, I am not particularly interested in trying out my new shoes again until after the half marathon on April 2, but need to figure out how to keep my shoe from developing a bigger hole and rendering my shoe useless or embarrassing. Any ideas on how to stop this hole? Any suggestions welcome. Right now, I am considering some kind of glue or duct tape solution, but I don’t want to look stupid… Any advice? 🙂

Leave a Reply

