Break on through to the other side

On Sunday, I was supposed to run 8 miles as part of my half marathon training program. I managed around 7 1/2 – mainly because I was traveling (Labor Day weekend). But, not hitting my goal really gave me a sense of disappointment. I should have planned better, should have mapped out a route better… Blah blah blah.

On Tuesday and Wednesday, I was able to get through my 4-mile and 6-mile runs pretty well. My quads were sore on Wednesday, but that’s nothing new… Then, Thursday hit… I had some pain at the beginning of my run and had to walk for a bit. I was worried it wouldn’t stop, but it did and I was able to get through my 4-mile run. But, wow! I was really feeling tired. More disappointment.

Last night, I put some Salonpas on my quad and went to bed as early as I could. Today is a non-running day, but I also decided to make it a non-workout day because I am tired and frustrated with my recent performance. So, while at first, it felt like defeat, I really think I did the right thing. If I don’t listen to what my body is telling me, I won’t be able to go further and do it healthy/without pain.

My stubborn side lost today and I’m glad. I am resting up so I can do my 4-mile on Saturday and my 9-mile run on Sunday. I’m going to break on through to the other side and get myself back in the groove. Deep breaths… Enjoying the break… Onward tomorrow.

One thought on “Break on through to the other side

Leave a Reply

